Guidelines

On each homework assignment, please write (i) your name, (ii) name of course, and (iii) homework number. You are allowed and encouraged to work together on homework. Yet, each student is expected to turn in his or her own work. In general, late homework will not be accepted. However, you are allowed to turn in up to three late homework assignments with no questions asked. Unless you have made arrangements in advance with me, homework turned in after class will be considered late. When doing your homework, I encourage you to consult the Elements of Style for Proofs as a reference.

Homework

The following assignments are to be turned in at the end of the indicated class period. I reserve the right to modify the assignment if the need arises. These exercises will form the basis of the student-led sharing of solutions/proofs each day. Homework assignments will be graded on a $\checkmark$-system. During class, you are only allowed to annotate your homework using the colored marker pens that I provide.

  • Homework 1: Read the syllabus and write down 5 important items. Note: All of the exam dates only count as a single item. Turn in on your own paper at the beginning of class. (Due Wednesday, August 30)
  • Homework 2: Stop by my office (AMB 176) and say hello. If I'm not there, just slide a note under my door saying you stopped by. (Due by 5PM on Friday, September 1)
  • Homework 3: Complete Problems 3-6 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, August 30)
  • Homework 4: Complete Problems 7-9 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, September 1)
  • Homework 5: Complete Problems 10-13 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 6)
  • Homework 6: Complete Problems 14-17 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 11)
  • Homework 7: Complete Problems 18-21 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 13)
  • Homework 8: Complete Problems 22-25 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, September 15)
  • Homework 9: Complete Problems 26-28 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 18)
  • Homework 10: Revisit Problem 27 and complete Problem 29 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 20)
  • Homework 11: Revisit Problem 26 and attempt to prove Viola's conjecture. In addition, complete Problems 30-31 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 25)
  • Homework 12: Complete Problems 32-34 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 27)
  • Homework 13: Complete Problems 35-37 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, September 29)
  • Homework 14: Complete Problems 38 and 39 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 2)
  • Homework 15: Complete Problems 40-43 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 4)
  • Homework 16: Complete Problems 44-46 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 9)
  • Homework 17: Complete Problems 47-49 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 11)
  • Homework 18: Continue working on Problem 49 and complete Problems 50-51 from the Problem Collection. In particular, for Problem 49, you need to verify that you can tile a rectangle that with dimensions $(3(3+2k_1))\times (2k_2+5)$ for any nonnegative integers $k_1$ and $k_2$. (Due Friday, October 13)
  • Homework 19: Complete Problem 52 from the Problem Collection and revisit Problem B.3 from Quiz 3. (Due Monday, October 16)
  • Homework 20: Complete Problem 53 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 18)
  • Homework 21: Complete Problems 54-56 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 23)
  • Homework 22: Complete Problems 57-59 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 25)
  • Homework 23: Complete Problems 60-62 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, October 27)
  • Homework 24: Complete Problems 63 and 64 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 30)
  • Homework 25: Complete Problems 65-67 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 1)
  • Homework 26: Complete Problems 68-70 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 6)
  • Homework 27: Complete Problems 71 and 72 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 8)
  • Homework 28: Revisit Problem 68 and complete Problems 73 and 74 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 13)
  • Homework 29: Complete Problems 75 and 76 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 15)
  • Homework 30: Complete Problems 77-79 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 20)


Dana C. Ernst

Mathematics & Teaching

  Northern Arizona University
  Flagstaff, AZ
  Website
  928.523.6852
  Twitter
  Instagram
  GitHub
  arXiv
  ResearchGate
  Academia.edu
  Mendeley
  Google Scholar
  Impact Story
  ORCID

Current Courses

  MAT 220: Math Reasoning
  MAT 411: Abstract Algebra

About This Site

  This website was created using GitHub Pages and Jekyll together with Twitter Bootstrap.

  Unless stated otherwise, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International License.

  The views expressed on this site are my own and are not necessarily shared by my employer Northern Arizona University.

  The source code is on GitHub.