Guidelines

On each homework assignment, please write (i) your name, (ii) name of course, and (iii) homework number. You are allowed and encouraged to work together on homework. Yet, each student is expected to turn in his or her own work. In general, late homework will not be accepted. However, you are allowed to turn in up to three late homework assignments with no questions asked. Unless you have made arrangements in advance with me, homework turned in after class will be considered late. When doing your homework, I encourage you to consult the Elements of Style for Proofs as a reference.

Homework

The following assignments are due at the beginning of the indicated class meeting. However, most assignments will be collected at the end of the class meeting. I reserve the right to modify the assignment if the need arises. These exercises will form the basis of the student-led presentations. Daily assignments will be graded on a $\checkmark$-system. During class, you are only allowed and encouraged to annotate your homework using the colored marker pens that I provide.

  • Homework 1: Read the syllabus and write down 5 important items. Note: All of the quiz dates only count as a single item. Turn in on your own paper at the beginning of class. (Due Wednesday, August 29)
  • Homework 2: Stop by my office (AMB 176) and say hello. If I'm not there, just slide a note under my door saying you stopped by. (Due by 5PM on Friday, August 31)
  • Homework 3: Complete Problems 2-5 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, August 29)
  • Homework 4: Complete Problems 6 and 7 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, August 31)
  • Homework 5: Watch "Grit: the power of passion and perseverance" and any other 4 videos listed under Growth Mindset and Productive Failure on the Course Materials page and then write a reflection that is at least 15 sentences long. You should list the videos you watched. Rather than reflecting on each video separately, try to reflect on growth mindset, productive failure, and grit, in general. You are required to type your reflection. (Due Friday, August 31)
  • Homework 6: Complete Problems 8-11 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 5)
  • Homework 7: Complete Problems 12-14 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 10)
  • Homework 8: Complete Problems 15-18 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 12)
  • Homework 9: Complete Problems 19-22 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, September 14)
  • Homework 10: Complete Problems 23-26 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 17)
  • Homework 11: Complete Problems 27-30 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 19)
  • Homework 12: Complete Problems 31-33 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, September 24)
  • Homework 13: Complete Problems 34-36 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, September 26)
  • Homework 14: Complete Problems 37-39 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, September 28)
  • Homework 15: Complete Problems 40 and 41 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 1)
  • Homework 16: Complete Problems 42 and 43 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 3)
  • Homework 17: Complete Problems 44 and 45 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 8)
  • Homework 18: Complete Problems 46-48 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 10)
  • Homework 19: Complete Problems 49-51 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, October 12)
  • Homework 20: Complete Problems 52-54 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 15)
  • Homework 21: Complete Problems 55-57 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 17)
  • Homework 22: Complete Problems 58-60 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 22)
  • Homework 23: Complete Problems 61-63 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 24)
  • Homework 24: Complete Problems 64-66 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, October 26)
  • Homework 25: Complete Problems 67-69 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, October 29)
  • Homework 26: Complete Problems 70-72 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, October 31)
  • Homework 27: Complete Problems 73-75 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 5)
  • Homework 28: Complete Problems 76-78 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 7)
  • Homework 29: Complete Problems 79-81 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, November 9)
  • Homework 30: Complete Problems 82-84 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 14)
  • Homework 31: Complete Problems 85-87 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 19)
  • Homework 32: Complete Problems 88-90 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, November 21)
  • Homework 33: Complete Problem 91 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, November 26)


Dana C. Ernst

Mathematics & Teaching

  Northern Arizona University
  Flagstaff, AZ
  Website
  928.523.6852
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Facebook
  Strava
  GitHub
  arXiv
  ResearchGate
  LinkedIn
  Mendeley
  Google Scholar
  Impact Story
  ORCID

Current Courses

  MAT 220: Math Reasoning
  MAT 411: Abstract Algebra

About This Site

  This website was created using GitHub Pages and Jekyll together with Twitter Bootstrap.

  Unless stated otherwise, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International License.

  The views expressed on this site are my own and are not necessarily shared by my employer Northern Arizona University.

  The source code is on GitHub.