Guidelines

On each homework assignment, please write (i) your name, (ii) name of course, and (iii) homework number. You are allowed and encouraged to work together on homework. Yet, each student is expected to turn in his or her own work. In general, late homework will not be accepted. However, you are allowed to turn in up to three late homework assignments with no questions asked. Unless you have made arrangements in advance with me, homework turned in after class will be considered late. When doing your homework, I encourage you to consult the Elements of Style for Proofs as a reference.

Homework

The following assignments are due at the beginning of the indicated class meeting. However, most assignments will be collected at the end of the class meeting. I reserve the right to modify the assignment if the need arises. These exercises will form the basis of the student-led presentations. Daily assignments will be graded on a $\checkmark$-system. During class, you are only allowed and encouraged to annotate your homework using the colored marker pens that I provide.

  • Homework 1: Read the syllabus and write down 5 important items. Note: All of the quiz dates only count as a single item. Turn in on your own paper at the beginning of class. (Due Friday, January 19)
  • Homework 2: Stop by my office (AMB 176) and say hello. If I'm not there, just slide a note under my door saying you stopped by. (Due by 5PM on Friday, January 19)
  • Homework 3: Complete Problems 3-5 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, January 19)
  • Homework 4: Complete Problems 6-9 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, January 22)
  • Homework 5: Complete Problems 10-12 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, January 24)
  • Homework 6: Complete Problems 13-17 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, January 29)
  • Homework 7: Complete Problems 18-20 from the Problem Collection. In addition, watch "Grit: the power of passion and perseverance" and any other 3 videos listed under Growth Mindset and Productive Failure on the Course Materials page. You should list the videos you watched. Also, rather than reflecting on each video separately, try to reflect on growth mindset, productive failure, and grit, in general. (Due Wednesday, January 31)
  • Homework 8: Watch "Grit: the power of passion and perseverance" and any other 3 videos listed under Growth Mindset and Productive Failure on the Course Materials page. You should list the videos you watched. Also, rather than reflecting on each video separately, try to reflect on growth mindset, productive failure, and grit, in general. (Due Wednesday, January 31)
  • Homework 9: Complete Problems 21-23 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, February 2)
  • Homework 10: Complete Problems 24-26 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, February 5)
  • Homework 11: Complete Problems 27-29 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, February 7)
  • Homework 12: Complete Problems 30-33 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, February 12)
  • Homework 13: Complete Problems 34-36 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, February 14)
  • Homework 14: Revisit Problem 35 and prove Daniel's conjecture. That is, prove that if we can get to $(x,y)$, then $\gcd(x,y)=1$. Also, if $\gcd(x,y)=1$ (for positive integers $x$ and $y$, then we can get to $(x,y)$. In addition, complete Theorems D and E in Problem 37 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, February 16)
  • Homework 15: Complete the rest of Problem 37 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, February 19)
  • Homework 16: Complete Problems 38-40 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, February 21)
  • Homework 17: Complete Problems 41-43 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, February 26)
  • Homework 18: Complete Problems 44-46 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, February 28)
  • Homework 19: Complete Problems 47-50 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, March 2)
  • Homework 20: Complete Problems 51-54 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, March 5)
  • Homework 21: Complete Problems 55-57 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, March 7)
  • Homework 22: Complete Problems 58-60 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, March 12)
  • Homework 23: Complete Problems 61-63 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, March 14)
  • Homework 24: Complete Problems 64-66 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, March 16)
  • Homework 25: Complete Problems 67 and 68 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, March 26)
  • Homework 26: Complete Problems 69-72 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, March 28)
  • Homework 27: Complete Problems 73-76 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, April 2)
  • Homework 28: Complete Problems 77-79 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, April 4)
  • Homework 29: Complete Problems 80-82 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, April 6)
  • Homework 30: Complete Problems 83-85 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, April 9)
  • Homework 31: Revisit Problem 82 (and Problems 83 and 85 if necessary) from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, April 11)
  • Homework 32: Complete Problems 86 and 87 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, April 16)
  • Homework 33: Revisit Problem 87 and complete Problem 88 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, April 18)
  • Homework 34: Revisit Problem 88 and complete Problem 89 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, April 20)
  • Homework 35: Revisit Problem 88 yet again and complete Problems 90 and 91 from the Problem Collection. (Due Monday, April 23)
  • Homework 36: Complete Problems 92 and 93 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, April 25)
  • Homework 37: Complete Problems 94 and 95 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, April 27)
  • Homework 38: Complete any three of Problems 96-100 from the Problem Collection. (Due Wednesday, May 2)
  • Homework 39: Complete any three of Problems 101-105 from the Problem Collection. (Due Friday, May 4)


Dana C. Ernst

Mathematics & Teaching

  Northern Arizona University
  Flagstaff, AZ
  Website
  928.523.6852
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Facebook
  Strava
  GitHub
  arXiv
  ResearchGate
  LinkedIn
  Mendeley
  Google Scholar
  Impact Story
  ORCID

Current Courses

  MAT 220: Math Reasoning
  MAT 411: Abstract Algebra

About This Site

  This website was created using GitHub Pages and Jekyll together with Twitter Bootstrap.

  Unless stated otherwise, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International License.

  The views expressed on this site are my own and are not necessarily shared by my employer Northern Arizona University.

  The source code is on GitHub.